Subject to Council Approval

JONESVILLE CITY COUNCIL Minutes of November 15, 2023

A meeting of the Jonesville City Council was held on Wednesday, November 15, 2023 at the Jonesville City Hall, 265 E. Chicago Street, Jonesville, MI. Mayor Gerry Arno called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Council members present were: Chris Grider, Brenda Guyse, George Humphries Jr., and Andy Penrose. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula.

Also present: Manager Gray, Treasurer Spahr, WWTP Supt. Hughes, DPW Supt. Kyser, Sgt. Albright, Attorney Lovinger, Greg Bailey, Dana Kyser, Larry Jones, Ava Barber, Caiden Fenton, Lisa Adair, Sarah Gray, Ellie Gray, Jeff Wingard, Rick Riggs, Scott Lucas, Joe Luna, Jillian Cook, Kaylin Reaune, and Haley Steveson.

Councilmember George Humphries Jr. led the Pledge of Allegiance and the moment of silence.

A motion was made by Brenda Guyse and supported by Andy Penrose to approve the agenda as presented with one addition: 6.I. – Board and Commission Appointments. All in favor. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

Ellie Gray provided a brief presentation regarding the Heritage Association Youth Advisory Council's "Downtown Fairy House Project". The Heritage Association will provide and install the fairy doors to the exterior of downtown businesses for a \$25.00 donation.

A motion was made by George Humphries Jr. and supported by Chris Grider to approve the installation of "Fairy Doors" on the exterior of City Hall and Carl Fast Park. Manager Gray will support the project on behalf of the city. All in favor. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

Greg Bailey of Bailey Hodshire & Co. P.C. presented the June 30, 2023 audit report for the City of Jonesville. Mr. Bailey stated that the City had a "highest form of clean" audit with no issues being found. Mr. Bailey commended the City Council and City staff for again having a commendable audit.

Brenda Guyse made a motion and was supported by Chris Grider to receive the June 30, 2023 Audit Report as presented. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Chris Grider, Brenda Guyse, George Humphries Jr., Andy Penrose and Gerry Arno. Nays: None. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

Andy Penrose made a motion and was supported by Brenda Guyse to accept the recommendation from the DDA to approve Resolution 2023-12 - Chicago Street (US-12) Road Diet and proceed with the Road Diet. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Chris Grider, Brenda Guyse, George Humphries Jr., Andy Penrose and Gerry Arno. Nays: None. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brenda Guyse and supported by Brenda Guyse to adopt Resolution 2023-13 – Mutual Aid Box Alarm System (MABAS) Interlocal Agreement. Deputy Chief Rick Riggs and Assistant Chief Scott Lucas spoke on behalf of MABAS, a statewide fire services mutual aid system which allows participating unites of government to assist others with fire equipment and staffing to assist with response to major incidents, or request such assistance to address incidents in their own community. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Chirs Grider, Brenda Guyse, George Humphries Jr., Andy Penrose and Gerry Arno. Nays: None. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

Brenda Guyse made a motion and was supported by Chris Grider to award the bid for the Wastewater Treatment Plant Digester Building Make-Up Air Unit to Ryan and Bradshaw Mechanical Contracting in the amount of \$20,498.00. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brenda Guyse and supported by Chris Grider to award a 5-year Waste and Recycling Contract to LRS of Jackson, MI based on the proposal dated November 6, 2023. All in favor. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

Brenda Guyse made a motion and was supported by Chris Grider to approve payment of invoice for the Maumee Street Construction Project in the amount of \$35,532.39. All in favor. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

George Humphries Jr. made a motion to file the Certification of Accountability and Transparency with the Department of Treasury. Brenda Guyse supported the motion. All in favor. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Andy Penrose and supported by Brenda Guyse to appoint and re-appoint the following board and commission members:

Board of Review				
Joy Sutton	Re-Appoint	3 Year Term (2026)		
<u>Citizenship Committee</u>				
Kathy Adams	Re-Appoint	3 Year Term (2026)		
Brenda Guyse	Re-Appoint	3 Year Term (2026)		
Downtown Development Authority (DDA)				
Chris Fast	Re-Appoint	4 Year Term (2027)		
Joe Ruden	Re-Appoint	4 Year Term (2027)		
Anthony Smith	Re-Appoint	4 Year Term (2027)		
Local Development Finance A	<u>uthority (LDFA)</u>			
Scott Campbell	Re-Appoint	4 Year Term (2027)		
Eric Weatherwax	Re-Appoint	4 Year Term (2027)		

Planning Commission

Christine Bowman	Re-Appoint	Three Year Term (2026)
Charles Crouch	Re-Appoint	Three Year Term (2026)

Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA)

Kayla Thompson Re-Appoint Three Year Term (2026)

Council was made aware there is a board vacancy on the Downtown Development Authority and one on the Local Development Finance Authority. Staff will advertise and bring recommendation at a future date. All in favor. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Chris Grider and supported by George Humphries Jr. to approve the minutes of the regular meeting on October 18, 2023. All in favor. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

Brenda Guyse made a motion and was supported by Andy Penrose to approve the Closed Session minutes of October 18, 2023. All in favor. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brenda Guyse and supported by Andy Penrose to approve the minutes of the special meeting on November 1, 2023. All in favor. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

Andy Penrose made a motion and was supported by Chris Grider to approve the Accounts Payable for November 2023 in the amount of \$146,346.42. All in favor. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Brenda Guyse and supported by George Humphries Jr. to receive and place the minutes of Economic Development Partnership – July 20, 2023, Region 2 Planning Commission – September 14, 2023, and Region 2 Planning Commission Executive Committee – October 12, 2023 on file. All in favor. Absent: Tim Bowman and Delesha Padula. Motion carried.

Updates were given by Department Heads and Mana	ger Gray.
Updates were given by Council.	
Mayor Arno adjourned the meeting at 7:34 p.m.	
Submitted by:	
Cynthia D. Means	Gerald E. Arno
Clerk	Mayor